Good news, everybody[1]Day Terrors has been published. Actually, it’s been out for a couple of weeks now, but end-of-semester workload is such that I’ve been able to focus on little else. In fact, I’ve just realized that my editor on Revenant sent me the galley proofs for my short story “When the Bough Breaks” nearly a month ago, and I utterly forgot to review those. Oops; bad writer, bad. But, to Day Terrors: the anthology is now available for purchase from Amazon (and other online retailers should shortly follow), both as a regular book and an ebook for the Kindle. My story “The Heat Has Fangs,” I’ve mentioned before, is a bit of an experiment in voice, told as a one-sided conversation by an elderly, digression-prone newsvendor; it concerns a group of men who begin to suspect that a deadly heatwave contains something sentient–and malevolent. The anthology as a whole revolves around horror stories that take place not at night or in shadows, but in the bright and unrefutable glare of day.

Day Terrors Anthology

In other news, I’ve found out that Dark Pages, an anthology of short stories self-evidently organized around dark fiction, has been nominated for a Shadow Award, which is an annual prize given out by the Australian Horror Writers Association, in the edited fiction category (you can find their website, along with the other finalists, at http://australianhorror.com/index.php?view=256). Congratulations are due our editor on the project, Brenton Tomlinson at Blade Red Press, and my fellow contributors for crafting a collection of distubing and nightmarish tales. This seems like as good an opportunity as any to pimp out the project: my contribution to the anthology is entitled “Hand and Cradle,” and is a piece of alternate-history which I’m very glad found a home because it remains one of my most vivid imaginings (darkness notwithstanding). It concerns a timeline where capitalism has permeated every facet of society as enforced by the shadowy Invisible Hand, and one ageing industrialist’s confrontation with her own mortality, leading to a daring break-in at a Cradle, where children are raised seperate from family and the rest of society to ensure Equal Opportunity. The anthology can be purchased at the publisher’s website, which also lists other retailers like Amazon and the Kindle edition: http://www.blade-red.com/books/dark-pages-1/.

Dark Pages Anthology


[1]
Also good news: Futurama has been renewed!

